ETL pour le Décisionnel

Les processus ETL (Extraction, Transformation et Chargement) sont les composants les plus critiques - et les plus importants – pour l’alimentation d’un data warehouse ou d’un système décisionnel. Bien que cachés de l’utilisateur de la plate-forme décisionnelle, les processus ETL rassemblent les données à partir des systèmes opérationnels et les pré-traitent pour les outils d’analyse et de reporting. La précision et la vitesse de la plateforme décisionnelle toute entière dépendent des processus ETL, notamment :

  • L’extraction de données des applications et des bases de données de production (ERP, CRM, SGBDR, fichiers, etc.)
  • La transformation de ces données pour les réconcilier entre les différentes sources, pour effectuer des calculs ou du découpage de texte, pour les enrichir avec des données externes et aussi pour respecter le format requis par les système cibles (Troisième Forme Normale, Schéma en Etoile, Dimensions à Evolution Lente, etc.)
  • Le chargement des données résultantes dans les différentes applications décisionnelles : Data Warehouse ou Enterprise Data Warehouse, Data Marts, applications OLAP (Online Analytical Processing) ou “cubes”, etc.

 

Obstacles : Gestion de données hétérogènes

L’implémentation de processus d’ETL efficaces et fiables comprend de nombreux défis.

  • Les volumes de données sont en croissance exponentielle, et les processus ETL doivent traiter des quantités importantes de données granulaires (produits vendus, appels téléphoniques, transactions bancaires, etc.). Certains systèmes décisionnels sont mis à jour de façon incrémentale, alors que d’autres sont rechargés dans leur totalité à chaque itération.
  • Alors que les systèmes d’information se complexifient, la variété des sources de données s’accroît également. Les processus d’ETL doivent disposer d’une large palette de connecteurs à des progiciels (ERP, CRM, etc.), bases de données, mainframes, fichiers, Services Web  et applications SAAS.
  • Les structures et applications décisionnelles incluent des data warehouses, des data marts, des applications OLAP - pour l’analyse, le reporting, les tableaux de bord, le scorecarding, etc. Toutes ces structures cibles présentent des besoins différents en termes de transformation de données, ainsi que des latences différentes.
  • Les transformations des processus d’ETL peuvent être très complexes. Les données doivent être agrégées, parsées, calculées, traitées statistiquement, etc. Certaines transformations spécifiques au décisionnel sont aussi requises, comme les Dimensions à Evolution Lente.
  • Alors que le décisionnel se rapproche du temps réel, les data warehouses et data marts doivent être rafraîchis plus souvent, dans des fenêtres de chargement toujours plus courtes.
  • Les clés primaires font partie des attributs les plus importants dans les bases de données puisqu’elles relient tout. Souvent, les projets d’intégration de données gèrent de multiples sources de données et doivent résoudre le problème posé par les multiples clés afin de donner du sens aux données combinées.

 

Solution : Talend ETL for Analytics

Les solutions d’intégration de données Talend sont optimisées pour les besoins ETL de l’entreprise. Les fonctionnalités suivantes sont particulièrement décisives pour le design, le développement, l’exécution et la maintenance des processus ETL :

  • Plateforme Open source très évolutive permettant des exécutions rapides avec un déploiement en mode Grid et exploitant les architectures ETL et ELT.
  • Connectivité étendue à tous les systèmes source et cible, facilitant l’accès aux données et l’ajout de nouveaux systèmes.
  • Composants avancés natifs pour l’ETL tels que les manipulations de chaînes, les dimensions à évolution lente, la gestion des lookups, le chargement bulk ainsi que des outils de mapping de données pouvant gérer des mappings complexes.
  • Modèle orienté business qui assure une communication optimale entre les équipes informatique et les intervenants métier.
  • Environnement de développement graphique pour améliorer la productivité et faciliter la maintenance.

 

Produits Talend

Intégration de données Talend

Talend propose un ensemble extensible et hautement évolutif d’outils d’intégration de données pour accéder, transformer et migrer des données à partir de tout système métier. Grâce au support de plus de 800 types de sources de données, Talend simplifie vos besoins d’ETL.

En savoir plus

Qualité de données Talend

Talend offre une solution de qualité de données puissante et basée Open source fournissant des fonctionnalités de profiling, de nettoyage, de mise en correspondance et de monitoring de bout en bout, ainsi que la possibilité d’identifier des anomalies, de standardiser des données, de résoudre des doublons et de monitorer la qualité des données au fil du temps. La cohérence des données est améliorée lors de la migration vers de nouveaux systèmes.

En savoir plus

A la différence d’autres solutions dans lesquelles vous devez intégrer des produits pour obtenir une solution, les produits Talend améliorent votre productivité via une plateforme unifiée – un référentiel commun de code, des outils d’ordonnancement, de gestion des métadonnées, de traitement des données et d’activation de services.

ETL for Analytics

Extraction, Transform and Load (ETL) help in feeding data warehouse or business intelligence systems

Extraction, Transformation and Loading (ETL) processes are critical components for feeding a data warehouse, a business intelligence system, or a big data platform. While mostly invisible to users of a business intelligence platform, an ETL process retrieves data from operational systems and pre-processes it for further analysis by reporting and analytics tools. The accuracy and timeliness of the entire business intelligence platform rely on ETL processes, specifically:

  • Extraction of the data from production applications and databases (ERP, CRM, RDBMS, files, etc.)
  • Transformation of this data to reconcile it across source systems, perform calculations or string parsing, enrich it with external lookup information, and also match the format required by the target system (third normal form, star schema, slowly changing dimensions, etc.)
  • Loading of the resulting data into various business intelligence (BI) applications: Data Warehouse or Enterprise Data Warehouse, Data Marts, Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) applications or “cubes”, etc.

 

Obstacles: Managing Diverse and Fast-Changing Data

There are numerous challenges to implementing efficient and reliable ETL processes.

  • Data volumes are growing exponentially.  With the rise of big data, ETL processes have to process large amounts of structured and unstructured data, such as call detail records, banking transactions, weblog files, social media files, etc. Some business intelligence (BI) systems merely get incrementally updated, whereas others require a complete reload at each iteration.
  • Data velocity is moving faster from batch processing to real-time. Information needs to be distributed to all connected systems to enable real-time business insight and avoid multiple versions of the truth. As business intelligence analysis tends toward real-time, data warehouses and data marts need to be refreshed more often and the load time windows have shrunk.
  • As information systems grow in complexity, the disparity of sources is growing as well. ETL processes need comprehensive connectivity to a wide range of systems, including packaged applications (ERP, CRM, etc.), databases, mainframes, files, Web services, big data platforms and SaaS applications.
  • Business intelligence structures and applications include big data platforms, data warehouses, data marts, and OLAP applications for analysis, reporting, dashboarding, scorecarding, etc. All these target structures have different data transformation requirements and different tolerances in terms of latency.
  • Transformations involved in ETL processes can be highly complex. Data needs to be aggregated, parsed, computed, statistically processed, etc. BI-specific transformations are also required, such as slowly changing dimensions. Primary keys are some of the most important attributes in relational databases as they tie everything together. Quite often data integration projects deal with multiple data sources and therefore need to address the issue of having multiple keys in order to make any meaningful sense of the combined data.

 

Solution: Talend ETL for Analytics

Talend's Big Data and Data Management solutions are optimized for enterprise-grade ETL, for big data and small. The following features are especially critical to the design, development, execution and maintenance of data integration and ETL processes:

  • A highly scalable and fast execution open source platform that leverages a grid of commodity hardware, and the only solution to support the dual ETL and ELT architecture.
  • Broad data integration connectivity to support all systems so you can access all production data.
  • Built-in advanced components for big data (Hadoop, NoSQL, big data platforms), and ETL including string manipulations, slowly changing dimensions, automatic lookup handling, bulk load support and data mapping tools that can handle complex data mappings.
  • Business-oriented process modeling that involves business stakeholders and ensures proper communication between IT and lines of business.
  • Fully graphical development environment that greatly improves productivity and facilitates maintenance.

 

Talend Products

Talend Big Data

Talend Open Studio for Big Data combines big data components for MapReduce, Hadoop, HBase, Hive, HCatalog, Oozie, Sqoop and Pig into a unified open source environment so you can quickly load, extract, transform and process large and diverse data sets from disparate systems. Talend Enterprise Big Data adds teamwork, advanced management features, indemnification and support.

Learn More

Talend Data Integration

Talend provides an extensible and highly-scalable set of data integration tools to access, transform and migrate data from any business system. With support for over 800 types of data sources, Talend simplifies your data ETL needs.

Learn More

Talend Data Quality

Talend provides a powerful open source-based data quality solution that delivers end-to-end profiling, cleansing, matching and monitoring capabilities with the ability to identify anomalies, standardize data, resolve duplicates and monitor data quality over time. Data consistency is improved as integrate systems.

Learn More

Talend Data Management

Talend Data Management turns disparate, duplicate sources of data into trusted stores of consolidated information, so your business can be more responsive and confident in daily decisions.

Learn More